Saturday 6 April 2013

The Antwerp Six

Photo By Philippe Costes/WWD Archive

Ode to the legendary Antwerp Six

The Antwerp Six is a group of influential avantgarde fashion designers that graduated from the Antwerp's Royal Academy of Fine Arts in the eighties. The fashion collective presented a distinct radical vision for fashion during the 1980's that established Antwerp as a notable location for fashion design. The breakthrough occurred in 1988 as the group rented a truck and set out for the London fashion fair with their collections and have put this city on the fashionmap ever since.

The Antwerp Six are: Ann Demeulemeester, Walter Van Beirendonck, Dirk van Saene, Dries van Noten, Dirk Bikkembergs and Marina Yee.

No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...