Tuesday 20 October 2020

Winners of 35th Hyères Festival

The 35th edition of the International Festival of Fashion, Photography and Fashion accessories, Hyères, took place from 15 to 19 October 2020 at the Villa Noailles.

Tom Van Der Borght won the Grand Prix and Public Prize at Hyères Festival

Belgian designer Tom Van Der Borght, the winner of FASHIONCLASH Festival 2019 Award, won the Première Vision Grand Prize at the 35th edition of the Hyères International Festival of Fashion and Photography. The prize was announced by a jury headed by designer Jonathan Anderson, founder of JW Anderson and creative director of Loewe.

“What we really, really admired in the work of Tom van der Borght is that it was a totally new type of form, new type of shape, new type of commitment to a silhouette, and it was uncompromising,”
designer Jonathan Anderson, head of the jury, said during a remote award ceremony.
“And in this moment we are in, we as a jury believe that it was about starting this new decade with newness, this idea of originality.” Anderson continued: “It was not about looking at something for its automatic commercial sense. It was about the beauty within fashion, the handmade, the technique, and the risk in it. And I think Tom has really achieved something in what he has done and I think he will go on to do very well.”

Tom Van Der Borght started his fashion education at the age of 30 and founded his label in 2013 after graduating from the Stedelijke Academie voor Schone Kunsten Sint-Niklaas. Recently he finished the Master of Theatre study at Toneelacademie Maastricht.

As part of the Chloé Prize, the finalists created in addition to the 7 silhouettes in their collection, a silhouette that is true to the Chloé legacy; the know-how of Luxury ready-to-wear combined with a feminine look, naturally elegant and spontaneous addressing today's women. Marvin M'Toumo was named Chloé Prize winner. Emma Bruschi won the Prix 19M Des metiers D'Arts De Chanel.

The Fashion Accessories jury, chaired by Hubert Barrère named Ddiddue & Juana Etcheberry winner of the Grand Prix du Jury. They also took home the Hermès Fashion Accessories Award. Special mention is for Antonin Mongin, Florian Dach & Dimitri Zephir.

The photography jury, chaired this year by Paolo Roversi, named Guanyu Xu as winner of the Grand Prix du Jury. American Vintage Photography prize went András Ladocsi and the public award is given to Dutin Thierry.

Since 1986, the festival has promoted and supported young international fashion design, since 1997 a competition has also existed for emerging photographer and this year, for the fourth time, a competition will also recognise young fashion accessory designers. The festival is acknowledged as the oldest fashion competition aimed at young professionals.



No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...